Happy Black Friday and a Contest!

Happy Black Friday! I am so stuffed from Thanksgiving Dinner. Now it’s time to go shopping and see what great deals I can get for the house 😛 You got it! I don’t generally buy a lot of Christmas gifts, instead I buy the great household items we have been wanting for a great price and maybe a new TV or Laptop every few years for great prices.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on Black Friday be it success stories or horror stories! Make sure to leave a comment with your email address and I’ll random.org a winner of a backlisted title of any of my Decadent Stories. Right now Here’s a character interview with Amara and Mari the heroines from my upcoming release Satin and Steel!

Good Morning,

Today I’m hanging out with Amaranta and Marisol from my upcoming release Satin and Steel. Ladies say hello. Amara cuts her eyes at me with her antisocial self.

“Mornin’ I’m Mari and you I’ll say hey for my mate Amara too. She’s not a morning person.” Mari speaks from her perch on Amara’s lap.

What can you tell us about yourselves? What do you do?

“I kill things needin’ killed.” Amara slinked her arm around Marisol. “Mari here, she’s a peach. Her job it total shit, I’d never want to deal with—” Mari laughed. I am a teacher and my girlfriend is petrified of children but not of the sadists she hunts. If you haven’t guessed, I’m human and Amara isn’t.

What differentiates you from your kind?

“Oh, I don’t know. I mean I’m the normal 9-5 chick that loves to cook for her family. We have another mate too. Gavin, but since it’s girls taking over, we want all the glory!

“Is she always so happy Amara?”

Man, is she. There are times it’s damned annoying but she is the light of my life. Begrudgingly and only to my jaguar is the man in our life. He makes me feel you know feminine and weird; I don’t much like him yet. My animal does so we’re at constant war. Everyone loves Mari though. Look at her she’s beautiful and sweet.”

Do you have special abilities?

I am Kanima.

“What is Kanima?”

My family comes from Argentina in South America. Kanima is my curse. Normally only the strongest males carry the gene, maybe one percent of all shifters are women. Basically I’m an assassin. Works well with my social grace.” Amara snorts. I watch Mari stroke her hair.

Tell us about your most current adventure.

What do you get when you mix a wolf with a cat?

I dunno, what? Catdog. You know like the cartoon. Amara busts out laughing at her own joke. She notices no one else doing so. “Seriously? It’s a funny show.” What Amara is saying is that we are mated to a wolf. She’s cat, he’s dog and I’m— not telling…… They’re like fire and water but fun to watch make up.

Are you happy with the way people perceive you?

Um. I guess. Never really gave a rats ass what people thought of me. Mari pokes Amara in the ribs. “Not true. You care what Gavin thinks.”

“Only cuz the rat bastard mate of ours is an Alpha.” Amara and Gavin have a total dominance power play all the time. It’s like watching a basketball or football game. The pack takes bets on who’s gonna win.” Mari grinned.

“You left out the worst part kitten.” Amara grumbles.

“Oh. Yeah,

I’m Switzerland when they do that….not picking sides neutral.”

“I have to mention Gavin is smokin’ hot! He has these hands, and he’s just so big, no pun intended, but well all over. When he’s not generally scowling over somethin’ Amara’s done he’s a dreamboat.”

“He’s alright.” Amara didn’t go into detail the way Mari did but sitting close by her I could see the flash of fire in her eyes as Mari extolled his attributes.

Tell us a little bit about your world.

“Mari gets up to go teach brats all day and I go when summoned to track down serial killers, murderers, the like. It can get rather…what’s the term monotonous.”

“I love what she does, Gavin doesn’t care for it but what can he do? Nothing and it is funny to see him powerless over something.”

What kind of music do you listen to?

“We listen to Reggaeton and Hip Hop.” They answer the question in sync.

Is expressing love difficult for you? Why?

Amara watches with her mouth set in a grim line. She’s so closed off it makes me wonder if she’ll respond. She finally loses the stop the nosey question look and opens her mouth. I wait… “No. I love Mari and will do anything for her to protect her. It’s easy to love her. Gavin is another story.

Mari kisses Amara’s cheek and the woman blushes. I find the softer side of Amara sweet. “We love him and Amara is the best mate a girl can have.

Share a little bit of the ‘real’ you with our readers. Any Dark secrets?

Amara grins and I’m thinking payback…poor Mari. “Mari doesn’t act or dress like a school teacher, it’s damn hot the dirty things she’ll do at the club. Mari smiles demurely but there’s a twinkle in her eye.

She digs right back. “Amara doesn’t normally dress like a man. She has some of the sexiest clothing I’ve ever seen. I think she likes to piss people off by dressing offensive.”

“Oh I do not. It’s hard to kill in heels and a mini.”

“Bullshit, you’ve done it before. You just don’t want people to know you like being girly.”

“Whatevs, next question please?”

What is your most favorite thing to do?

“We love to dance.”

Describe your abilities and how exactly did you get them?

“A Kanima shifter receives his/her gift during puberty. So yeah, while others were planning Quinceanera parties, I was not.” I sense a bit of hostility that she missed out on something that was a part of her culture.

Does your gift get you in trouble?

“Nope. I don’t really answer to anyone but our goddess and as long as we get the bad guy we’re good.

I’ve never missed.”

Do you sing in the shower?

“Doesn’t everyone?”

Have you ever lost control? And what was the outcome?

“I think you should read the book. It was insane.” Mari grins and doesn’t give a thing away.

How many sex partners have you had? How many at one time?

“Until recently it was just Mari and I, now we have our mate Gavin so only three at a time.”

Do you think you are a superior being?

“Superior, no we are all part of a food chain so there’s always someone clamoring to have what we have to move up.”

Do you agree Mari?

Pretty much. It’s pretty intense going from knowing of one species to multiple species.

Well thank you for your time. Are there any last words you’d like to share?

Satin and Steel is due to release in Soon! Keep an eye out for more information. Of course you can visit our author’s links for updates and her publisher Decadent Publishing for other works to read while waiting for ours to release!

Blurb:
Heat level: Multan Lava

Amaranta knows well the painful burn of inadequacy. Not being quite good enough for those she loves. Until her path changes in irrevocable ways. Kanima calls to her, death surrounds her as she grows into her craft. Hating the enforcer side of her she has no choice but to accept, she buckles down endeavoring to become the best of the best. She finds she hunts best alone, fending off all orders to hunt with a partner. Until the day her most valued treasure is taken from her. Amaranta must not only accept the help of others but find the strength within to face her greatest fear. The solution waits for her on a silver platter. All she has to do is grasp what’s readily in front of her.

Excerpt:

Sunshine filtered through the copse of trees, welcoming the new day. Amara stretched her body out and took off in a run, her body contorting mid-stride. Her seamless change differed from others who shifted. Unlike them, her body transitioned with no pain, as her bones didn’t break and reform. Forrest life silenced around her, as if the animals sensed the presence of a predator in their midst and ran for cover. She didn’t want to hunt but rather to give into the urge to run with the sun shining on her sleek fur and wind tickling her ears. Walking barefoot as a human didn’t give her the comfort of her more bestial form. Moss cushioned her run, until she came upon fallen tree limbs and twigs.

Mother Nature surrounded her. Breathing in the beauty, she caught the stripes of a skunk’s tail in her line of vision. Instead of moving forward, she backed up and turned to pad across the wet woodland floor, her claws digging into the moist earth. Amara crouched down, her belly touching the cool terrain, and rolled, taking pleasure in the feel of the soil beneath her.

Bird’s wings fluttered above her, providing her entertainment, more than the bugs inching across fallen logs. She basked in the smell of the musky dirt. Shrill sirens interrupted her morning joy. Magnifying raucous shrills hurt her hypersensitive hearing. What the fuck? With a leaden sigh, she forced the shift to wash over her. By her count, it’d take her twenty minutes to make her way back home in time to beat whomever to her door. Worry set in. Mari didn’t possess the skill or instinct to avoid danger or know if she was in a perilous situation. Running full out, Amara ignored the bite of rocks against the bare soles of her feet and pushed leaves and limbs from her face as she sprinted at breakneck speed. Surely Mari knew to call out to her if trouble found her. The raucous wails intensified and the crunch of tires entering her private drive grew louder. Amara pressed on, breaking through the foliage into her large back yard to see uniformed officers walking the perimeter of her house.

“Excuse me?” Amara padded across her back yard, aware of her nudity and one enforcement officer leering at her. The other looked uncomfortable. Humans. Why do they find nudity unacceptable, since everyone born into the world came without clothes? How she hated the restricting fibers and longed to live in nothing but her skin. Maybe a blanket for times when the cold bit into her, chilling her to the bone.

“Ma’am, your alarm system activated. We called and no one answered. Are you harmed?”

“No, not at all.” She crossed her arms under her breasts. Their eyes roved over her and the one speaking seemed to lose his voice. They appeared confused as to why she paraded around like she did.

“Sir, the house is clear.”

“I’m sure it was just a false alarm.” Amara whipped her head to the left, addressing the female officer entering through her veranda doors.

“Are you certain? We found your front door wide open when we pulled up the drive. The perpetrator may still be in the area. Ma’am, would you mind putting on some clothes?”

Of course there wasn’t an intruder in the house; she’d feel the presence. She weighed the probability of Mari forgetting to lock up behind herself. No other lingering scents clung in the air. No dark aura. Seething in anger at her girlfriend’s lack of awareness, she stalked to her door, leaving the officers to follow her indoors. “I do mind dressing on my own property. I like being naked—”

“Still, ma’am…talking to you’d be a lot easier if you wore clothing.”

“For fuck’s sake.” Amara glared at the unwanted guests.

“She’ll put on some clothes if I have to drag her to her room myself and dress her.” Gavin’s authoritative voice entered into the standoff.

“I will not. This is my place. If they don’t like my appearance they can leave.” Amara whipped around and stared down Gavin’s steel wall of unwanted authority. “What are you doing here?” She’d never seen the man anywhere but at the Delightful Kitty. In his cargo pants and T-shirt, he looked damn good standing in her house.

“Heard the call on my scanner. Wanted to check on you and Mari. Go put on some clothes, babe. I’ll keep the five-oh company.”

Amara opened her mouth to speak and switched outlets.

How do you know where I live?

Drake told me. Now go put on some clothes. Though I don’t mind staring at you, not one bit.

Check out these other great authors on the blog hop!!!

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Erotic Romance, Paranormal Romance Author and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Black Friday is new to us up in Canada. Only half of the stories participate. I still prefer to shop online rather than joining a crowd of anxious shoppers. Thanks for participating in the hop! 🙂

  2. I used to go shopping on Black Friday, but no more. Too many rude, mean, ignorant people out there. I will find the deals online. angadair@nwcable.net

    • The store employees were great, some people were great. I liked that we had tickets for the big ticket items and I stayed in line for six hours just got a comphy fold up chair from an aisle and chilled with my daughter til checkout. Thanks for coming!

  3. I tried shopping on Black Friday just once and that was more than enough to confirm that I have no interest in ever doing that again. 🙂 Online shopping for me now.

    Thanks for participating.

    bimmergrlmd at gmail dot com

  4. Excellent interview, ladies! (Personally not a fan of Black Friday.)

  5. used to go shopping on Black Friday, but no more. Too many rude, mean, ignorant people out there. I will find the deals online

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  6. Great interview and excerpt! I think I like Amaranta. 😉
    Thank you for sharing.
    This is only my second year going shopping for Black Friday, so I don’t have many stories really. I go out to get the children’s gifts and sometimes electronics. I have heard many horror stories though.
    This year, I took my 14 year old son and realized that I probably should have left him at home. He kept asking for things. Lol.
    Thank you for the giveaway!
    trb0917 at gmail.com

  7. I don’t “do” black friday
    sugerlady@aol.com

  8. Hi! Happy Holidays to you! Thanks for the awesome hop and giveaway! Best wishes and many blessings to you!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  9. We stay in Black Friday, although we did do little on-line shopping 🙂 I really get stressed out with crowds, so I figure whatever savings would be offset by the stress ;p Hope you had a lovely post Thanksgiving, hales!

    f dot chen at comcast dot net

  10. LOVING THE HO:P EVEN THOUGH I’M SI:DE LINE BY THE FLU:D!
    THANQ
    redz041@yahoo.com

  11. Thanks everyone for commenting! my winner is Laurie Goudge!

Leave a comment