Celebrating St. Valentine Blog Hop

celebratingstvalentine

Happy Valentine’s week!

My most memorable story is my engagement. I personally have the best man in the universe. He has been my (literally) best friend for 15 years, even when I wasn’t the best friend to him. We became friends when I was 21. I was all over the place wanting to see the world, and get out of my hometown.

In hindsite I didn’t feel that we were ever on the same page and he was so smart and solidly put together while, I was a hot mess that I never really thought I was good enough for him. Thus the friend zone. I rationalized keeping him there though selfish on my part was better for him than him having to deal with my baggage.

After my mother passed and another failed relationship, I called him to come resuce me yet again. He drove 8 hours through a snow storm because I needed him. Valentine’s weeked.He had an ultimatum in this, that this was a last ditch effort on his end and he was exhuasted from my romantic messy entanglements.   On Valentine’s Day at dinner we formulated a plan to bring me from the middle of no-where Kansas back home to Kansas City including resigning from my job and giving notice to my ex’s parents who owned the house I was renting.

He was such a good friend to listen and help me figure out what I wanted to do next. He went home but called me every day until a month and a half later the time came where we rented the moving truck packed up my three teens and all our worldly goods and headed home.

You’d be amazed at the conversation you can have driving 8 hours with no where to run. We had a total heart to heart where he turned and asked me why I never thought he was good enough. He told me he loved me for so long but I never saw it and it killed him that I kept dating assholes who broke my heart when he was right there.

I told him that not being with him was much kinder than being with him and breaking his heart. He laughed and asked what I thought the past fifteen years of “I need you to come pick me up and put me back together was if it wasn’t hell on earth, he didn’t know a worse one.”

I am so damaged, I never thought I’d find love, although I write love and erotic romance. I never thought having a happy ending was in the cards for me. Mostly out of fear of commitment and fear that I’d fail him. But he’s never failed me and I wanted to see what we could have together. It hasn’t been a walk in the park but it’s great to be myself with him because he’s seen me at my absuolute worst and absolute best for many years. I have no secrets from him because damn it all, he’s been there through everthing and knows me better than I know myself. Being with him is as easy as breathing. With him I feel safe, loved and cherished. He’s not romantic by any means, I don’t hear I love you every day but his actions really do deliver what words don’t. Now and then I’ll hear those three lovely words but I don’t need to.

Now How about a Prize. I’ll be giving a swag pack and Copy of Heaven sent to one lucky winner. Tell me your most memorable Valentine’s. Make sure to leave your email address in your comment!

HeavenSent_Draft

Darkness fell early in the evening. Mia sipped a cup of hot cocoa while waiting. Time had never moved slower than waiting for Dire to show. Maybe she needed a psychologist or some heavier meds of a different type. Who worried about a man they recently met, and without an exact definition of the relationship they were heading in. She grasped his shirt in one hand, wanting to bury her face in his scent. Madness. She’d fallen head over heels into insanity. Tired of pacing and watching out the blinds for a glimpse of his truck, she sat down and flipped the television on. True to her word, she kept away from the news channels. Comedic family shows played on every channel. Not in the mood for comedy, she turned the television off and picked up a historical romance she’d found at a swap and shop months ago, but hadn’t had the time to read. She slipped the robe off and donned his shirt, wanting to feel closer to him in his absence. Using the discarded robe as blanket, she curled up on the couch and disappeared into the pages of her new book.

Lost in the world of thievery, abduction and handsome as sin highlanders, she’d toned out the world until a loud banging on the door scared her out of her wits. She dog-eared the page and tossed off the robe. The incessant pounding grew louder. “What.” She swung the door open ready to rip the balls out of the person who’d made her put down the fantastic book and probably dented her door. “Dire.”

“I rang the bell seven times.” Did he growl at her? And why did she find the sound arousing. Wait…I’m mad at him. She crossed her arms over her breasts and glared at him.

“I’m sorry for scaring you.”

Mia saw red. She clocked him with her open palm across his face, spun on her heel and stormed back into her house.

“Mia. Stop.”

“Go to hell.” She launched her body forward into a sprint up the stairs away from him. Pounding footsteps fell behind her as she heard him chase. Halfway up the stairs, a band of steel wound across her middle, halting her momentum. She kicked back and found her legs trapped by muscles as hard as tree trunks.

“Why are you mad?”

God he smelled good. Even angry with him, his energy singed her. Struggling to break his hold got her nowhere. His breath tickled her neck. His rock hard chest cradled her back.

“You didn’t text or call.”

Dire cussed under his breath. “Because I thought you’d be asleep like we discussed,” he snapped at her and spun her to face him.

She saw the angry welt on his face and dropped her gaze. Dire didn’t deserve her abuse. Ashamed of her actions, she couldn’t look him in the face.

“You should’ve anyhow.”

“I’m okay.” She frowned refusing to give into the two words she’d wanted to hear for hours.

“The team is okay too. Mia. I like to look who I’m talking to in the face.”

“Why are you doing this to me?” She pushed against him to get away and stumbled on the stairs when he let go of her. “Take this back and get out. I can’t do this.” Tears threatened to spill as she tore off his shirt and threw it at him. The T-shirt hit him in the face and fell to the floor. “I wanted to tell you that we should be friends but I can’t now because I’m in too deep.” His stunned expression, the way he held his body rigid while raking a gaze over her body caused her to shiver in reaction and start for her bedroom. “I said to leave,” she repeated when he made no move to.

“Calm down.” Instead of leaving, he followed her.

“Fuck you.”

“That’s mature.” He caught up to her, spun her around, and fisted a hand in her hair keeping her from running further. “Look at me Mia.” Her choice was to squeeze her eyes shut or to do as he bid.

“You had better be glad I’m not tender headed.” She glared at him, uncomfortable with the close proximity of his body so close to hers and her runaway emotions.

“I’m not hurt and you’re okay. Nothing bad happened.” He pressed her against the edge of her bed and dropped an arm to her lower back. Mia almost died when his lips feathered over her skin of her throat. Soft at first, until he worked a path up her neck, swept a finger along her jaw line and nipped to her lips.

Dormant need blazed to life. Mia turned aggressor, wrapping her legs around his waist and planting her lips over his mouth. Tongues tangled. Moaning into his mouth, she found the hem of his shirt and thrust her hands up his chest. Dire helped her take the T-shirt off. God, he is so sexy. To think she’d been totally naked in front of him this whole time left her feeling inhibited.

“Don’t get shy on me now. You looked damn sexy wearing my name.” He bit into the curve of her neck while palming the globes of her ass. His sparse chest hair abraded her sensitive nipples. Wetness drenched her thighs as he laid her down. Dire paused assaulting her mouth to grab a condom out of his pocket. She watched enthralled as he unbuttoned his jeans and shrugged out of them to cover his heavy cock!

 

Enter to win the grand prize by commenting on the blogs bellow to get entries! Then fill this form to submit your entries!

Grand Prizes:

Cera’s Place by Elizabeth McKenna

A Beautiful Struggle (Beautiful #1) by Lilliana Anderson

Tell Me You Want Me by Amelia James

Secret Storm by Amelia James

The Devil Made Me Do It by Amelia James

Her Twisted Pleasures (The Twisted Mosaic, #1) by Amelia James

Enchanted (The Heart Of Winter, #1) by London Saint James

Is Love Enough by Marisa Adams

Keir by Pippa Jay

Terms & Conditions Apply by HOST: Reading Romances (INT)  35. DeLeetra Staley (INT)   2. Kim in Hawaii  36. Tara Quan   3. Karyn Gerrard (INT)  37. Sable Hunter (INT)   4. Gabrielle Bisset, PNR Author (INT)  38. The Book Referees   5. Natasha Blackthorne (INT)  39. June Kramin   6. Gayl Taylor (INT)  40. Regan Black (US/CAN)   7. The Little Black Book Blog  41. Read for your future   8. Helena Harker (INT)  42. Sherry Gloag   9. Lily Harlem  43. Dianne Hartsock   10. Misa Buckley (INT)  44. Candace Blevins (BDSM Romance)   11. Kristabel Reed (INT)  45. HEARomances   12. My Devotional Thoughts (U.S.)  46. Jacquie Rogers — Take a Romp in the Wild West   13. Mary @SweepingMe  47. The Character Depot (INT)   14. Hannah Fielding Romance Novelist (INT)  48. Karen Kennedy Samoranos   15. Zoe Dawson – No Formulas…No Rules  49. Mindy Hardwick (US)   16. Romantic Suspense as Big as Montana  50. Serena Zane   17. Lindsay Avalon  51. Paige Tyler   18. Imagine a World (INT)  52. Suzi Love (INT)   19. Reading Reality  53. DC Juris   20. Lilliana Anderson (Int)  54. Flirting With Romance (INT)   21. Amelia James  55. Minding Spot   22. Jennifer Lynne – Erotic Romance (INT)  56. Jennifer Conner Best-selling author   23. Book Liaison  57. Reality Bites! Let’s Get Lost!!   24. Page Flipperz( Int )  58. Andrea Johnson Beck   25. Pippa Jay (INT)  59. Sharon Kleve’s Romantic Ramblings   26. Romance Book Club (US)  60. Simply Ali (US & INT)   27. Smardy Pants Book Blog  61. Keta Diablo   28. Madeline Sloane  62. Blackraven’s Erotic Cafe (INT)   29. Diane Rinella, author (INT)  63. Blackraven’s Reviews (INT)   30. Mahalia Levey (US and CA)  64. Roberta Capizzi – author (INT)   31. Vanessa Morgan (INT)  65. Linda Nightingale   32. Avalon (worldwide)  66. Harlie’s Books   33. ELF, The Reading Addict  67. Book Referees   34. Love Saves the World (INT)    

 

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on February 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. MY Valentine’s day memory may not be the normal one that you will hear. My father had died and my mother was dreading the holiday, because he loved V Day so much. So, my siblings and I had a big catered dinner for her, her children, and all her grandchildren. We made sure that we had all her favorites to eat. We surprised her with a dessert that my father made often and was something he craved during his last few months, rice pudding. She was overjoyed by all the love and support that was felt this Valentine’s Day, February 14, 2006.

  2. Taking my then boyfriend(now husband) out to his favorite restaurant!

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  3. Thank you for sharing your Valentine story. I don’t really have a Valentine’s memory as such, DH and I just spend the day together.

  4. In grade school a boy had his teacher give my teacher a handmade Valentine to hand me. I’ve never forgotten that valentine : )

  5. When my son was 4 ( he’s 7 now ), i was extremely ill… He got his Gram (my mom) to buy me a card, a box of tissues, cough syrup and fuzzy socks… He had her make me some hot chocolate and he came in the room and would sit with me and rub may head and tell me that he was going make me all better… I love my little fellow, he makes my heart sing…

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. It was my second date with my husband, eventhough we haven’t been together long I knew he was the one then

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  7. Thanks for participating in the hop.
    wendy_pogrant@yahoo.com

  8. Spending the evening alone with husband without the kids is a great memory. We try to do this every year.

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  9. I don’t have any memorable Valentine’s Day stories yet.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  10. Happy Saint Valentine’s Day!! Hope your day is filled romance and much love!
    Thanks for the giveaway! I have to say that I get a gift every year from my father and it’s adorable.
    mestith (at) gmail (dot) com

  11. Happy Valentine’s Day!
    We rarely go out on Valentines Day because it is just too crazy; the restaurants are crowded, the wait is long, the service is mediocre, I always feel rushed, and it’s just not worth it. ….. So we went out on Monday and had a very nice romantic dinner at one of my favorite restaurants. My hubby gave me a Chocolate Rose and I gave him his favorite candy (Snickers Minis) in a heart shaped box.
    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  12. Lisa Walker Liese2

    Great story!
    Thanks for the chance!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  13. My favorite valentine memory is a poignant one– it’s remembering my sister enjoy a box of sugar free valentine chocolates. We lost her that summer. She usually did not care for chocolate that much, going for treats like strawberry pie and carrot cake, but she dug into that valentine box. I love the picture you paint of your husband. Mine is like that, too– his actions tell it all.

  14. LOVED the story! thanks for sharing. i don’t usually celebrate vday, but this year i gave myself a day off from work for some “me” time. it was very wonderful!! thanks for the giveaway.
    pepperpenn42 at gmail dot com

  15. I really enjoyed reading your story and thanks for sharing with all of us! Actually I don’t. My ex-husband has never taken me out and bought me no gifts but a card here and there. That’s why you see “ex”. lol j/k Thank you for a chance to win and for being a part of this fun and awesome blog hop!!

    livvie_v@yahoo.com

    • I didn’t realize that this was eastern time. I live on the west coast. I’m so sorry about my entry on here. I’m never to sure about the dates and times because some go up to the 18th at midnight and some the 17th at midnight, If it doesn’t count I totally understand! Thanks!

  16. Thank you for the awesome hop and giveaway!!! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. thanks
    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  18. Thank you for all the wonderful replies. I love Valentine’s Day and enjoyed sharing my story with all of you! The winner for my post is pepperpenn42 at gmail dot com. I will send out an email.

    Please check back for more blog hop posts or giveaways!

Leave a Reply

