SCAM ALERT!!!!!

Below is an actual notice I recvd in my email box telling me my domian had expired. I’ve had my domain for 4 years and have never paid 75.00 a year.

I called Go Daddy to verify My account was accurate and they informed me that unless I pay for private unlisted domain. My personal info will be in a huge cyber spot  and available to be scammed by whomever. I’m paying to put it in private as I would a home number listing as soon as I get home from work.

This Email looked authentic because it contained so much of my personal information that was accurate. The physical home address was the same address I registered my domain with as is the current phone number.

Watch out…. and never pay unless you verify with your domain holder that you actually owe. Go Daddy Billing reported that this scam is bad and that he the rep had recvd calls that people had paid 75.00 and then called him and was happy I called first and was cautious.

 

 

Expiration Notice

Order #: 20033342

 PROCESS PAYMENT NOW

Domain Name
MAHALIALEVEY.COM
Registration
Oct 29, 2012 – Oct 29, 2013
Price
$75.00
Term
1 Year

Domain: MAHALIALEVEY.COM

To: My Real Name

An Actual Previous Address Kansas City, Missouri

(816) 555-5555- My actual current home phone number

Don’t miss out on this offer which includes search engine submission for MAHALIALEVEY.COM for 12 months. There is no obligation to pay for this order unless you complete your payment by Nov 13, 2012. Our services provide submission and search engine ranking for domain owners. This offer for submission services is not required to renew your domain registration.

Failure to complete your search engine registration by Nov 13, 2012 may result in the cancellation of this order (making it difficult for your customers to locate you using search engines on the web).

Process Payment For
MAHALIALEVEY.COM

UNSUBSCRIBE INSTRUCTIONS

You have received this message because you elected to receive special notifications and offers. If you no longer wish to receive our special notices, please unsubscribe here, or mail us a written request to the attention of: Customer Contact Manager, PO Box 4668 New York, NY 10163. Please allow up to four weeks for the complete unsubscribe process to take place. NOTE: If you have multiple accounts with us, you must opt out for each one individually in order to fully stop receiving these notifications. This message is CAN-SPAM compliant.

Please do not reply to this email, as we are not able to respond to messages sent to this address.

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on October 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Paying GoDaddy for privacy is part of the scam. Just BOLO everything that isn’t valid.

  2. To quote Benjamin Franklin: There is no shame
    in being ignorant, only in refusing to learn. I must take this
    opportunity and thank you for enabling me to learn, so that I am a
    tad less ignorant today than I wwas the day before.

Leave a Reply

