Valentine’s Fun!

Once again Valentine’s is just around the corner.  I love the romance of the special date for lovers. My fiance however considers it just another day, since romance should be more than just one day and not commercialized. He is romantic some but not the flowers and candy or so I thought. Last year I recieved flowers, candy and a stuffed bear by floral delivery at home and a pretty heart-shaped pendant during dinner. I stand corrected, while he personally doesn’t get into the meaning of the holiday, he does because I enjoy it.

What does Valentines mean to you? Is it just another day or is it a day to celebrate being in love and sharing a bond with someone you wish to spend the rest of your life with?

I love the little heart candies with the love sayings on them, Cupid and his bows making romance for all who are searching 😛 I like the chocolates although I can’t eat them anymore lol!

Be Mine 😛

Dancing isn’t easy. Four nights a week Caileigh disappears into the persona of ‘Autumn’ to make a decent buck. The foster care system didn’t prepare her for what happens after turning twenty-one. Armed with only a high school diploma and forty bucks, she’s thrust on the hard cold streets, where she takes the only job a young girl with no prospects can get. Selling small pieces of herself to strangers isn’t the life she wishes for.  Deep down she aches for a better life.
 Orias keeps vigil on his newest target. Normally he possesses more intelligence. The scant piece of paper gives him the name of a seedy business and a photograph. To find such beauty among the dredges of society affects him. The way she moves on the stage entrances him, but the sadness hidden underneath a facade of sexual promise moves him. For once the fallen thinks to disobey a direct order. Underneath his dark soul he craves for light and warmth of love.
 Tag:  Even miracles can happen in one night.

Coming Feb 21st from Decadent Publishing

*****Contes*****

For US and Canada residents only.

I’ll be giving away a set of body paint, swag and small female finger stimulator as a fun gift. All you have to do is answer the questions, leave an email address in the comment. I’ll give extra entry to those following me on twitter and facebook for an addl chance.

The Contest Ends Feb 10th at midnight. All entries must be in and email addressess must be in the response to be counted. I’ll random.org pick a winner!

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. To me it’s really just another day. Could be cause i’m single though. 🙂 But I think the romance should be everyday. Not just dedicated to one single day. Thanks!
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark@yahoo.com
    fb-Amber Hall
    twitter-@VampedChik

  2. D'Ann Linscott-Dunham

    Just another day. My husband hates it, says it’s just a way for card companies to make a buck. It’s especially painful watching my single daughter on that day. Strike it off the calender, I say.

  3. Maybe I’m old fashioned, but it happens to mean a lot to me. In the mid 90’s we moved up from a large city in eastern Washington to a small town of about 1400 people. a little town with one stop light. I loved it.
    In 1997 I was standing at my kitchen sink and looked up out the window, and to my surprise a floral delivery was pulling up to my small house. Thinking they were lost I met them at the door. When I open the door all I see is a huge flower arrangement of a dozen red roses not 5 inches from my face. The delivery guy says; “Ms Johnson?”. I knew then that my DH was the guilty party…*S* I had forgotten it was Valentine’s Day. There wasn’t a local florist in this little town, so the flowers had been delivered from over 65 miles away from another state. How awesome is that? The thoughtfulness and planning sweet loving!
    Still after 35 years, and he still remembers…*S*
    Hoping that romance still out there for everyone else 🙂

    Darcy
    pommawolf @hotmail.com

  4. Valentines day was very special – my late husband would buy me flowers, a stuffed animal – and the most beautiful cards – one serious and one funny – the funny one he would sign his name & the names of all of our animals – cats, dogs, goats, etc. & Chinese food for supper – my favorite

    Notw it will be just another day in the year – he passed away in March of 2011 –

  5. I’m already following you on twitter and I’ve just friended you on facebook.

    To me it can be romantic, but hubby and I don’t go out to eat on this night. Too many people already crowding the restaurants, so we go out to eat the night before or just after.

    One special Valentines day, we double dated and my husband bought me a heart shaped jasmine vine and heart shaped balloons. Then we went out to dinner in a limo. It was really nice.

    Janice~

  6. Hi Hales…great covers you have up there! Husband and I have been together for 30 years and raised 4 kids. When the kids were still very young, I couldn’t work many hours, so money was very tight…come to think of it, now that 3 are in college, money is STILL very tight!
    Anyway, he used to allow himself to go out to lunch at a fast-food place on Fridays, as his reward for working so hard. To get ready for Valentine’s Day he would save his lunch money for weeks in order to be able to give me chocolates or flowers. One year all he could spare was the money to buy a single rose at the local grocery store. He presented it to me with a sad look, telling me that the gum-chewing check-out girl had asked him if that was all he was giving, as if he was a cheapo! I cried and thanked him most profusely, because I knew how hard it was for us to buy little extra things.
    If you have to have only one partner for the rest of your life, it helps if you can find a good one! I know I did!

  7. It’s the day I also get goodies from a man who wanders around saying it’s a made up holiday…but he always remembers anyway lol.

  8. I love holidays of all kinds! When I am without a lover, I find others to shower with love and candy! 😉

  9. It’s just another day. I am married, but he usually does not do anything for it. It is actually a source of depression for me because of that and my most hated holiday!! Sorry to be a downer!

    For others, it does seem to be a romantic holiday. Most people get flowers and such.

    artsyoil@yahoo.co,

  10. I send cards to family and friends to tell I love them. Hubby thinks it’s just another day for big business to grab our money. lol He usually does something, but not cards. lol

    • Hey Sandy, I think guys don’t like to part with money lol! Mines the same way he’s stepped up the romance aspect. He’s an accountant so he’s miserly. But he makes sure to make me feel good. I give the kids money and they go buy me stuff from the dollar store or walmart.

  11. I think it’s mostly a day like the others, but since I have kids, there’s no escaping! There are Valentines to be addressed and parties to be had! 😉 DH and I don’t usually do anything too special for that day, although he did splurge on some extremely yummy chocolate covered strawberries last year–mmm…

  12. I like it only because it is a reminder to not take the people we love for granted. It is a nice nudge for me to reach out to my hubby and let him know that I still appreciate and cherish what we have. I don’t like the commercial part of it but a nice double bubble bath or a massage is a wonderful gift to my man.
    musicalfrog at comcast.net

  13. Valentine is just another day when it comes to my hubby. But its special with my Daughter – This is the day I treat her like princess throughout the day. And when I get those cute notes that says “You’re the best mommy in the world.”

  14. Hi Hales, I like V-Day it is a day that give you the excuse to be extra romantic, especially if you got munchkins. I also think you have to keep the romance going all year long as best you can 🙂

    ~Brandy
    brandyzbooks at yahoo dot com

  15. Winner is Amber Hall! Congrats, email going out now. Thanks everyone for commenting. Keep watching my blog for more contests!

Leave a Reply

