Ringing in the New Year!

 

 

 

As part of the SCP One Year Anniv. I’m blogging about My New Years! Read along and comment. Click here to be taken to the SCP Blog  Make sure to check out the list of bloggers participating to be entered in SCP’s Main surprise! Happy New Year 😛

How I Spent My New Years!

For three weeks, the DH and I argued over what we were going to do for New Years. As always, I attempted to spend a good deal of time with my only son, the middle child since he’s a New Year’s Eve baby. However now that he’s 15 all he wanted was cupcakes, money and a trip to the mall to get some new things he wanted. I guess coddle time is over. I’m thankful I still get hugs and kisses from him every-night and when he leaves home. My closest friends don’t get that. Our options were spending 150.00 to 275.00 for a corporate event sponsored by his job AMC. I really balked at spending that much money for a three hour party, including a buffet, and a glass of champagne. I mean party bag full of top notch goodies? No just the normal food and drink, and not even a free bar. So then we decided we were just going to stay home.

Did we do that? Nope. We picked up his pops and headed over to the Brother-In-Laws house. My SIL did a great job cooking finger foods and making mixed drinks. Some close friends came and we played LOGO. A game I bought for the kids on Christmas. Between all the sexual innuendo and stories of the hubs teen through twenty years, we were dying laughing. I’ve heard these stories a million times over the last thirteen years. My favorite one was the way they used to prank each other. Family, and alcohol normally are not a good mix. However with this family man it’s hilarious. So instead of spending an exorbitant amount of money to stand with strangers or associates and pay for drinks, we had a fabulous time again with family, toasted to each other and to a fabulous 2012.

I’m not a big person on goals. I don’t like limits and I feel that they can be limit setting. I cheer for my friends when they make goals and wish them well on following through. I do however make plans 😛

I plan on finishing the four halfway written manuscripts on my desk top within the next few months.

I plan on taking some more courses this year and perhaps a romantic suspense novel.

I plan on going to Romanticon 2012!

I plan on having a great story to write after my Caribbean cruise in October!

I hope to meet new friends and to be inspired daily to be better than I am.

 

How do you celebrate your New Years.

Comment on this post. Friday Jan 6th I’ll pull a random winner for a 15 dollar Amazon Gift card. Make sure you put your email address in the comment so I can send your email addy for SCPs prizes!

Happy Holidays!

Follow me on Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100000145394960

www.mahalialevey.com

www.twitter.com/hales3000

www.mahalia2010.wordpress.com

 

 

 

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Happy New Year Mahalia. Your New Years Eve sounds a lot like mine. I usually spend the evening with my best friend & her family, since my folks never make it to midnight anymore. My best friend & one of my cousin-in-laws have become pretty close over the last year, so this year, we both went to party at my cousins. There were 30+ people including a half dozen kids under the age of 5. We sang karaoke, ate finger food, laughed & toasted the new year with sparkling fruit juice. Almost everyone was still there & wide awake to see the ball drop in New York. Good times.

    drainbamaged.gzymo at gmail.com

  2. Happy New Year! I hope that this year is better than the last one. U spend every New Years with my family watching the ball drop. I might go out next year though,
    amberpreer(at)yahoo(dot)com

  3. Happy New Year Mahalia. For my New Years I stayed home and spent time with my family. I’m not much for crowds so I much prefer the comforts of home and lounging in my pajamas. I have plans for 2012 and like you I plan to be inspired daily and face each day on a happy and positive note.

  4. Happy New Year to you and yours Mahalia!!

    We did our usual, we stayed home. Been married 30 years and haven’t gone out on a single one!! But we’re good with it that way. Last year the Love of My Life slept through the striking of the upward hands. That was the only year he did that one. This year our 21 yr old daughter went out and I (anxiously) waited for her to come home. 😉

    Hope everyone’s New Year is the very BEST it can be!!

    thewildtwo @ sbcglobal DOT net

    • Voracious! I so don’t envy you. I’m not ready for mine to be 21 yet and thankfully I have a few more years 😛 Happy New Years! I enjoyed it with my guy. Even got him to take a pic and wear a party hat.

  5. I had a great New Year’s I didn’t want to sit home alone depressed. It was 41 years ago last night when I met my husband on a blind date. Since he died 30 Nov 2011 I have had to try and deal with it. So last night I went to my nephew’s house and spent the evening with him, his wife and the two girls. The first movie was more gore than anything it was stupid to me too, the move was Wolfman. Then James put in the movie Pirates of the Caribbean The Black Pearl. I understand that was the first of those movies. I laughed and we had so much fun. Then we watched the replay of the Rockin New Year’s Eve from New York with the ball dropping at midnight central time.

    • I am so glad to hear that. Yay that you got out and had fun. I hope as the years pass it’ll get easier for you. I haven’t lost a husband only my mother. Keep going out and moving on, love life. I’m sure that’s what he’d have wished. Hugs.

  6. We don’t do much, stay at home, maybe have a couple of drinks, eat snacks. Usually don’t like to go out because of having to drive back home. Last night I spent it watching an NCIS marathon with my 2 nieces, was very nice and casual.

    Happy New Year to you and Happy Anniversary to SCP!

  7. Happy New Year and Happy Anniversary to Secret Cravings!
    Last night my hubby and I had a great dinner at home- beef tenderloin roast, baked potato and fire roasted vegetables. We watched the Rockin’ New Year’s Eve special on TV and toasted each other with champagne at midnight. That Jenny McCarthy is funny. Nothing exciting, but fun.
    mcv111 at hotmail.com

  8. LOL, Hales! Sounds like a great way to remember the previous year(s) and ring in the new! We had a quiet evening at home with the family, and that was just right for us 🙂 We’ve never been big on partying, so it doesn’t make a lot of sense for us to start one night a year 😉 Can’t believe it’s the start of a new year–got some decluttering to do this coming year 😀

    f dot chen at comcast dot net

    • Happy New Years Fed!!!! Whoot the first NYears in your new place. Think of all the new memories you’ll be making there! Heck i’m excited for you 😛 Family is wonderful isn’t it?

  9. Happy New Year! Your 2012 goals sound great. Good luck with them!

  10. We planned to stay home, have a night full of appetizers, movies and drinks….actually ended up staying home, had family over for dinner, watched tv shows we had recorded on the dvr, drank a bottle of champagne with the parents and then …went to bed…lol…it was a very quiet New Years Eve!

    Happy New Year to you Mahalia!

  11. I wanted to go to bed – so tired! But, the kids cajoled until I stayed up and watched the ball drop. My daughter has informed me that we are having a party next year. Ugh!
    jepebATverizonDOTnet

  12. I just stayed at my sister’s house and hung out with her & her kids. We spent the night watching a marathon of The Walking Dead (Zombies). I just don’t do crowds or anything, they cause me to have panic attacks and since I have to take blood thinners, I can’t drink much or often.
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  13. Sounds like the perfect way to ring in the New Year – hats off to you! I’m with you – no promises or deadlines, just plans and commitments. Can’t wait to see the finished product of the story you’re working on now!!

  14. We went to a pot luck thrown by a friend. We did the countdown at 9pm and went home. I was asleep before midnight. 😦 Getting old is hard and being sick and old stinks!

    musicalfrog at comcast.net

  15. Thank you everyone for commenting! The winner is

    thewildtwo @ sbcglobal DOT net I’ve sent an email to Voraciousreader 😛

  16. Sounds like you had a wonderful NYE! Family always makes things better, IMO! My best memories of holidays is from NYE as it was the one time the whole family gathered at my grandparent’s house; we would eat and play games. Fun times!

    Happy anniversary, SCP! And congrats, the wildtwo for winning!!

    books4me67 at ymail dot com

  17. Happy Anniversary Secret Cravings!
    Thanks for the post
    Thanks for the giveaway. Congrats to the winners!

    klmc_37@yahoo.com

  18. Happy Anniversary Secret Cravings!

    Hales great post. The answer to your question is I stay home have a glass a wine and read the New Years in. Yeah I know boring but it’s a safe way.
    Thank you for all you do.

    Teresa K.
    tcwgrlup41(at)yahoodotcom

Leave a Reply

