Enough Already!

Please Welcome Karin Tabke to my blog Today!

Enough Already!

I am so over winter!  Is it me or are we all battling cabin fever?  While I am fortunate enough to live in Northern California where we aren’t getting snow dumped on us daily, I’m ready for Spring.  I can not wait to repot all of my containers, and seed my herb garden.  I can’t wait to go to the nursery and pick my plants, to order topsoil so I can get my hands dirty resoiling my flower beds.  I can’t wait for the lilies to erupt in the koi pond. I long to hear the frantic chirping of baby birds in my backyard.  My back yard is a veritable bird haven.  We have a resident hawk, robins, scrub jays, hummingbirds, woodpeckers, finches and sparrows. 

I’m renovating my front yard.  Last year I did some work out there. This year, I know what I did wrong and how to fix it.  Same with my container plants in the backyard.  Last year my veggie garden was meh, this year it is going to rock. I may even take a stab at growing orchids.

Gardening is very much like writing a book.  You begin with your basic structure, and then layer by layer you plant flowers, trees, and ground cover until you have a beautiful sanctuary. Oh, there is always the rearranging of some plants, pulling out of others and enhancing the ones that fit in perfectly.  I love to write with the same free-flowing creativity I use when gardening.  It takes awhile for a garden to come into full bloom, just as it does for a story. I get impatient sometimes and want my garden to immediately bloom, but I have learned patience.  As I have with my writing.  It takes nurturing, constant tending and love, for a garden to bloom in blinding riotous colors, very much the same way it takes to write characters that stay with us long after The End.  The best part for me, is when I get to sit back with a happy exhausted sigh and gaze upon my work with pride.

Now, winter! be gone so I can begin to create!

How about you, cabin fever got a hold of you? What are you looking most forward to this spring?

One randomly picked lucky commenter gets a $15 BN gift card!  

 Now for more Fun stuff!

Bad To the Bone
Wicked Reads #1
(January 13, 2011)
Digital – Erotic Contemporary
ISBN-10: 1452418357
ISBN-13: 978-1452418353 Download Now!
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords
Police officer Vaden Holbrook and widow Olivia Connor’s chemistry is off-the-charts hot, but incredible sex isn’t enough for Olivia. She wants it all. Will Vaden’s inability to commit push her into the arms of another man? Or can he overcome his past to become the man Olivia needs, the man he’d like to be?
 

Excerpt

Her mind wasn’t on the road. Or her driving. As usual, it was a million miles away, so when she took the wrong turn, it didn’t register. She followed the road a few miles before she carelessly ran a red light. A faint, Oh shit, I hope there wasn’t a cop hiding behind a bush, flashed through her mind. She made a quick left just in case, then gave her SUV some gas down the old country road.
It was late and it was dark. Hers was the only car on the rutted asphalt road. Her headlights blazed the way until she dunked into a pothole, the depth causing her to bounce and hit her head on the roof. As if to let the pothole know how she felt about that, she glanced angrily in her review mirror. That’s when she saw the headlights of another vehicle rapidly closing in on her.
She bit her bottom lip. Her nerves flared and her belly buzzed. When red and blue lights lit up behind her, her apprehension spiked.
The cop car pulled right up on her, lights blazing. She knew what to do. She looked right, making sure the shoulder was wide enough and not littered with the gaping holes left by the recent rain. She slowed, pulled over and came to a stop, then let out a long breath she hadn’t realized she’d been holding.
In her side mirror, she watched the cop get out of his car and say something into his mic before he started toward her window; his tall broad form was silhouetted ominously against his headlights. As the strobes flickered over him, she could tell by his strut he was cocky. But then, most cops were. Nervously, she sat back, folded her hands in her lap and waited.
Anxiously, she bit her bottom lip and hit the window button just long enough for the window to come down a crack.
He stopped at the side of her car. All she could see was his duty belt and his narrow waist that flared into a wide chest. He tapped on the glass with the end of his flashlight.
“Open the window, ma’am,” he commanded.
Despite the nervous flutter in her belly, her immediate reaction to authority was to open the window more. Even if it weren’t, she’d open wider.
Tension sizzled along her nerve endings when he ducked down and they met face to face. Her instinct was to shy away from the dark green eyes shining brightly in the night. Instead, she swallowed hard as her gaze dropped to full firm lips before bouncing back up to the blistering gaze.
He wasn’t classically handsome. He had one of those etched character-filled faces. His angles were blunt, nothing refined about him, but they complemented his olive coloring and close-cropped jet-black hair. There was nothing soft or apologetic about this man. It was his eyes and those bad boy lips that transformed him from average to sinful.
Her nipples beaded when his gaze dropped below her chin. Her chest rose and fell in shallow puffs. Her shirt was classic Anne Klein office wear. Although her sleeves were rolled up to her elbows and the buttons didn’t quite make it to her neck, the way she was sitting made the shirt gape open, exposing her cleavage supported by a lacy demi-bra.
He looked back up at her face. Heat flickered behind his hooded lids. An insolent half smile quirked the right side of his mouth before he backed up. She huffed, sinking deeper into the leather seat. It wasn’t like she had intentionally given him a peek. She wasn’t like that. She bet half the women he pulled over took one look at him and did more than show a little skin. He was all smoldering sexy. His subtle snub pissed her off.
A woman scorned, regardless of the circumstances, was nothing to mess with. Frustrated by his assumption, she stiffened and stuck her head out of the window. “Why did you stop me?” she demanded.
He cocked a dark brow at her tone. “You ran the light back there. License and registration, please.” He held out a big hand. Thick fingers with smooth blunted ends, neat square fingernails. A working man’s hand. A single working man’s. No wedding ring.
His other hand rested casually on the butt of his gun.
“What are you going to do? Shoot me if I don’t do what you say?”
His lips quirked. “I’ll use whatever force is necessary.”
Shivers hopped along her spine. She wasn’t sure if she were afraid or intrigued. Either way, she didn’t resist. She took her driver’s license out of her wallet and slapped it into his waiting hand. His big fingers wrapped around hers before she could pull away. His touch was electric. A shock wave went straight to her nipples and banked south to the juncture at her thighs. She tried hard to remain impassive. She tugged her hand out of his grasp, then dug into the glove box for the registration. This time, caution prevailed; she sat back and handed it to him, keeping all but her fingertips inside the car.
He took it and looked at her license. “I’ll be right back, Ms. Olivia Connor. Don’t go anywhere.” There was a hint of amusement lacing his deep baritone.
Did he just laugh at her as he walked away? She stuck her head out the window, to tell him to go to hell, but he had already reached his cruiser. She sat back, her temper flaring. “Damn cops think they’re God’s gift.”
In her rearview mirror, she watched him watch her through his front windshield as he called in her info. After what seemed interminably long, he strode back to her door. He reached inside the car, released the door lock, quickly pulling the door open before she realized what he was doing.
“Step out of the car, ma’am,” he said thickly.
“Why? You can’t arrest me for blowing a red light!”
“Step out of the car, ma’am.”
Her pride screamed “no.” Her reason told her to just do as he said so she didn’t invite any more trouble than she already had. Ultimately, Olivia was good at following instructions.
She stuck her left foot out of the car, her four-inch heel digging into the soil of the shoulder. When she stood, she nearly snapped her ankle. The bad cop reached out to steady her. His long fingers wrapped possessively around her bicep. Her skin flared beneath his chaste touch. When her second heel stuck in the ground, she jerked away from him and had he not grabbed her with both hands, she would have tumbled backwards into the mud. The velocity of his actions brought her chest to chest with him.
The contact was electrifying.

Blood Law
Blood Moon Trilogy #1
Berkley Heat (May 3, 2011)
Trade Paperback – Erotic Paranormal
ISBN-10: 0425240924
ISBN-13: 978-0425240922 Pre-order your copy today!
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Books-A-Million
Borders
Indie Bound
For all eternity, only one thing shall separate them—until the Blood Law is avenged…
The coming of the Blood Moon will lead two Lycan packs into war, spur two rival brothers into conflict, and spark an act of vengeance so evil that its effects will be felt for generations.
One woman stands at the center of it all…
As undisputed Alpha, Rafael must choose a life mate to preserve the dominance of his Lycan pack. He never suspected, his mate would be a human, the same wounded, girl-woman he seduces from the brink of death. Falon is a dangerous combination of Lycan and Slayer—beings bred to destroy his kind. Even more, she’s a mesmerizing beauty whose sensuality tempts the seasoned warrior to take unnecessary risks. The primal heat between them is irresistible, yet surrendering to it could destroy them both…for a vengeful foe stands ready in the shadows to fulfill what is rightfully his by Blood Law.

Thank you Karin for posting with me, I love your work, your heriones and you’re sexy heroes!

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on January 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 62 Comments.

  1. Gardening! I’m in SoCal but we still wait for spring and the seed catalogues are piled on my desk. What this year? I love the possibllities!

  2. Kate, let’s compare seeds!

  3. Hale, thank you for the invite!

    Kate check out http://www.gardenalive.com

  4. To get rid of cabin fever…I have been using the wii with my daughter and doing dancing its been ALOT of fun and helps releave some of the bordom of winter. I also read a ton nothing like escaping in a great book

  5. Love the covers to your books Karin! Thanks for the excerpt. I have horrible cabin fever- it’s not even so much the cold as the lack of sunlight that is really getting me down. I pretty much just force myself to get through things this time to the year, it’s really all you can do in the Mid-West….we had a bunch of snow last week that is still on the ground and now they are calling for more for next week:(. Mostly I read and try to escape my real surroundings….lol

  6. We’re preparing a plot of our garden here in central North Carolina for a victory garden … I can’t wait! Tomatoes, cucumbers, silver queen corn, squash, green beans, mmm. But I also have a wildflower garden and a corner with flowers to cut, like zinias and things like that.

    On a side note, I am excited to read Bad to the Bone … Everything about it grabs my attention. I tried to download it for the Nook reader on my iPad but had trouble with the BN.com site, and went to my local BN to find it but it wasn’t there; going to try Amazon this time. Love the excerpt.

    • Becky, I was just out back and mentally arranged my veggy and herb garden. I can’t wait to start planting! Your garden sounds lovely. I’m going to plant dahlias, gerber daises and roses for cutting. Now that you mentioned it, zinias too!

      I hope you enjoy BAD TO THE BONE! Sorry to hear you had trouble at bn.com. it’s listed in the nook store.

  7. Wow – what a title – love it – and the cover and excerpt – yum!! Hope you have many happy sales. 🙂

  8. Karin, I loved the excerpt of Bad to the Bone and i can’t wait to read it. I first read your work in the “Hard Stuff” anthology and you’ve been a must read ever since.
    XXOO Kat

  9. I live in Kentucky and we’ve had more than our share of snow this year. I’m ready for Spring.

  10. Im so loking forward to my Memorial Day Bar B Que.. now i know it’s kind of early but the planinng is the best part. Landscaping of my backyard, new patio furniture with lush plants and trees, going to try my hand at laying a paver sideway too. My hunny and I have a rib cookoff we also grill chicken. Baked beans, salad, sweet corn, greens and lots of yummy foods to eat. Also I pull out my sewing machine and make a new outfit to wear and the hostess with the mostess! So Spring can;t come fast enough, but the winter months are for hibernating and refreshing my creative mind.

  11. I am actually looking forward to the spring rains…its been a lil dry here in oklahoma…no snow needed just some nice tolerable spring storms

  12. Well, I’m actually kind of sad that we didn’t get more of a “winter”. This is the first year we’ve lived in town in a long time, so we didn’t get any snow except around Thanksgiving *sigh*
    And you know me, if it’s green and in or around my house, it won’t be green for long!! LOL Although your yard (front AND back) is ridiculously gorgeous, and I don’t know how you manage to wear the million hats you wear – and do it so well!! I stand in awe of your epic-ness hehe
    Don’t enter me in the contest =D
    Gorgeous colors on your blog, Hales!!

    • Bonnie, you all get way more rain than we do. How do yo not go stir crazy? I’m with you tho’, a little snow mixed in would be nice.
      I’m going to get you a nice silk fern. I don’t think you can kill it…
      I work hard on my yards. It’s therapeutic, and well, I love being outside.

  13. Since I live in Miami, FL I have no cabin fever *ducks from flying objects* LOL. Right now it’s about 70, got a little chilly this week, needs to warm up a little more to work on my tan :). This spring I am most looking forward to is going to LA believe it or not. I know going from one hot weather to another hot weather haha.

  14. Winter in n. Maine this year isn’t bringing with it snow, but frigid temperatures (like -30F). It’s sooo wrong! Unfortunately, we won’t see the beginning of spring until April. 😦

    I love how you compare your writing to a garden. Yeah, it’s just like that isn’t it? Your new books sound wonderful especially your Blood Moon trilogy. They’re definitely going on my TBB list! Congrats on all your success, Karin!

    • Nina, frigid temps and no snow?! What a rip off! How did you escape those storms?

      I realized last year after I began to really concentrate on my garden that I had made a few serious mistakes. As I was pulling, and replanting then filling in the barren spots it hit me that I was doing the same thing with the book I was working on. The similarities are scary.

      I’m really proud of the Blood Moon trilogy. It’s intense and sexy. I can’t wait to get started on BLOOD RITE!

      Thank you for your well wishes! I really appreciate them!

  15. Thank you everyone for commenting it’s been great reading them all 🙂

  16. Mahalia–I’m not a gardener, but I like seeing th flowers growing , and the birds flying around. We’ve seen blue jays and robins, and many little birds. Of course, we also get a lot of squirrels, and our shar of rabbits( which our husky likes to chase.. We had some snow in Western Washington, but not for a while.

    Karin–Best of luck selling your books.

    • lol me too! I buy the flowers already in bloom and plant them. That’s the extent and well I make the kids dig into the dirt. I don’t like getting my hands dirty.

    • Ann, we had a squirrel issue last year. One came in my yard and annihilated my hibiscus pots. And then started on my dahlias and fucias. I sprayed pepper spray around the pots and along the fence. I set down rubber snakes and even let my cats out. Didn’t work. So, hubby went after him…

      Thank you for the good luck wishes, Ann! Every bit helps in this crazy economy!

  17. Just popping in to say HI! on this webtour 🙂
    And yes – winter started early in FL and I’m over it. Sure we’re not as cold as everyone else, but that doesn’t mean to us it’s not cold. I do my best writing outside and can’t do when it’s this cold out 😦

  18. We have such a nice yard and house perfect for flowers and a garden but I don’t have a green thumb at all. I envy you all who have gorgeous yards. I’ll have to pay for mine most likely to be landscaped.

    • Hale, I used to leave the gardening to the gardeners, because I never considered myself to have a green thumb. and don’t be fooled, I have killed many a bloom. But this past year I made it my mission to figure it out. There were causalities, plenty of them, but by mid summer, I began to get the hang of it. Now my family can’t call me ‘Killer K’ anymore!

  19. Cabin fever? I gots it!! To make it go away, I take classes, play music, just about whatever it takes to force myself to get OUT of the house. I am ever so ready for spring! My feeling is, we had a white Christmas, now the snow and cold can all go away.

    I’d love to be able to garden, but I have the blackest thumbs in the world, so I just enjoy everyone else’s gardens, and refuse to volunteer to help in them, because that’s a sure-fire way to kill them off!

    I think Lisa’s Memorial Day BBQ sounds fantastic, too, so if she’d post all the details (where, what time, what we should bring, etc.), I’m sure we’d all be there helping her and her family party summer in!!

    Later,

    Lynn

    • Lynn, I’ve been doing the same. I have a puppy who demands to be walked twice a day, rain or shine and she doesn’t care how cold it gets! So, we go. If we had snow, she’d go on the treadmil.

      I’m on the west coast, so I’ll pick you up on my way to Lisa’s! We’ll have a blast!

  20. I have a few things to do i.e. take puppy for a walk, but I’ll be back!

  21. Ooh! Now I see that I didn’t scroll down far enough to comment yesterday! When I go to the second book cover, I thought I was in last week’s blog or something…I didn’t look closely enough at it to see that it was the same author! (Rolls eyes at own stupidity.)

    Both books look hot, will check them out. AS for cabin fever, Buddy Guy has a new CD out and my husband just put it onto my I-Pod…now all I can think about is June and Chicago’s Bluesfest, and dancing around in the sunshine, drinking beer and life is good!

    • Fiona, I do that all of the time! The bluesfest sounds wonderful! I use music too to yank myself out of the winter doldrums. In fact, I’m going to crank up the iPod right now! Thanks for the reminder!

  22. I am so DONE with the snow this year! It seems every week we are getting another 8-10 inches or more. (and I am not in a normally big snow area!)

    I can’t wait for capris and flip flops – I am tired of all the bundling up, heavy clothes, gloves, scarves, hats, boots, etc. And I still can’t get warm!

  23. I can’t wait to read both these books. There is not enough time in the day… I’m a huge fan of Karin’s books.
    By the way you are not alone. I want winter gone and some sun to get here.

  24. Good excerpts and blurbs. I am so with you! Spring cannot come soon enough. I just want to see some sunshine for more than a few minutes a day or with temperatures so cold you don’t want to be outside in it.

  25. Thank you all for participating today! I can’t wait till summer hits I’m tired of snow too!

  26. I, too, live in Northern CA, but since it has been sunny and warm (mid-60°), I can’t complain. I don’t do a whole lot of gardening due to deer, squirrels, and wild turkeys but I do enjoy watching trees bud. Right now, the bush in my backyard is blooming and the fragrance is wonderful.

  27. Hi Karin,

    I love to get in the garden also. I love my Roses, Mandedillias, and Irises. This year I’m going to plant some Butterfly Bushes and Zinnia’s. The only way I haven’t had cabin fever is that I’m taking care of sick parents right now. Believe me doesn’t leave much time to get restless.

    But I did get some of my favorite things right in NC. Weve gotten snow twice well I live. It’s so beautiful to look at. How it lays on the trees and how my horses look in the snow just makes for a picture postcard.

    I also wanted to tell you I love the excerpt from Bad To The Bone. I would so love to get this book. Got birthday coming up know what I’m asking for. Also Blood Law sounds good too.

    I wish you much success in your career.

    Teresa

  28. I haven’t quite got cabin fever yet, but the seed catalogs have been arriving and I’ve been putting them aside in a pile because I know looking at them will result in the need to garden. LOL

    Wow, both of your new books sound amazing. I haven’t read too many “men in uniform” stories for some reason– something I need to remedy. I also have a soft spot for shifter stories. Sigh. I can’t wait til May:)

  29. Hey, Brenda, I usually don’t start from seeds but this year I’m going to give it a whirl. If any actually grow, I’ll feel like I really accomplished something! And hey, girl you don’t know what you’ve been missing not tapping into the men in uniform stories. Hot cop, uniforms, handcuffs…

Leave a Reply

