One Million-Fifty-Two-Thousand-Six-Hundred-Forty Minutes A Journey with Nicole Zoltack

My writing journey started when I was in the sixth grade — literary, I wrote during class. For years I wrote but I didn’t start to submit my stories until late summer of 2008.

I saw a call for a sweet romance anthology and thought it would be easy enough to write a short story for it. So I did. I submitted a story. Checked my email every few minutes. Received a rejection, but Faith said that if I had another story, I had time to send it before the deadline. So I wrote another story. This time, it was accepted.

That acceptance email made my day. I was finally a writer!

Since then, I’ve published two fantasy romance novels with Desert Breeze Publishing. The third is due out next year. I’ve also sold seven more short stories and two flash pieces for various anthologies. Four of the anthologies come out later on this year, all of them in print.

It’s been a thrilling ride, my writing journey. I still receive my share of rejections, but each acceptance is special. I’ve always wanted to be a writer, ever since I was little, and now I’m living the dream, only now the dream has become bigger — my goal is to sign with an agent and break into NYC publishing.

I’m looking enough that I’m able to stay at home with my two boys. When they nap at the same time (which right now isn’t that often but I’m trying to get them on the same schedule!), I work on my writing. My two jobs, being a mommy and a writer, is something that I love.

So what have I learned since I’ve started my publishing journey? Never give up. A rejection doesn’t have to mean that a piece should be shelved, to never be read again. Instead it means reread, revise, and resubmit. A ‘no’ doesn’t have to be the final answer.

And keep writing. The most important tool in an author’s toolbox is their backlist. If I discover a new author and enjoy their book, I immediately look to see what else they have available. A backlist is key for building an audience.

And you never stop learning. Whether it’s a grammatical rule or a new technique or style, as a writer I’m constantly learning different ways to turn a phrase to keep my writing fresh and interesting. Writing is an art form. It’s fluid and changing.

Perseverance is key. After all, it only takes one ‘yes.’ That’s what I always tell myself after a rejection. I’m one ‘no’ closer to ‘yes.’

So thank you Faith for being giving me my first ‘yes’ and being my first editor. Thank you to my other editors and publishers. Thank you to my writing friends who have taught me so much. And thank you to my readers. I would be nothing without you.

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on August 30, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. One no closer to yes. I like that point of view, though the mathematician in me keeps trying to do too much counting and too many percentages. Thanks for your encouraging article.

  2. After reading two of your stories you might want to persevere on actually writing a good story.

    Will never buy again!

Leave a Reply

