Five-Hundred-Twenty-Five-Thousand-Six-Hundred Minutes A Journey with Sandy Sullivan

Hi everyone,

I’ve been asked to blog on my first year of being published. First of all, I want to thank everybody who has purchased any of my novels and thank Mahalia. She’s my beta reader and a wonderful friend for listening to me rant about my characters not talking to me and even complaining about my edits. I wouldn’t be where I am today without my fans. You all are fantastic and I hope to meet more of you in person. You are the reason I continue to write. I’ve made some wonderful friends through this journey from other authors to reviewers and everyone in between. I hope I can continue to entertain the masses with my stories.

Second, the first year has been a whirlwind for me. My first piece, Cowboy Love was published in September of 2009 with Siren/Bookstrand and from the first phone call, I haven’t taken a break since. I had several pieces in my archives and every one of them has been published now. I’m working on new sub-genre’s, but cowboys will always be my favorite. For anyone who knows me, it’s a given.

I think my writing had come about with some divine intervention. I had taken a break between jobs a couple of years ago and wrote Texas Lady. Without the break, I wouldn’t have had time to write. I’d thought about writing a romance novel for several years, but for those who remember back when we had paper and electric typewriters, it made it difficult. Computers and word processing programs have opened a whole new world. I sent it to several friends for feedback and everyone said, “You need to get this published.” I sent it out to a few publishers and got the standard, thanks but no thanks so I self published it and two more. I finally bit the bullet and sent my third piece to Siren in May of 2009 and low and behold, they took it! I couldn’t have been happier. Siren has been great to me so far and I will continue to write more for them. I also have more pieces coming with other publishers. Gotta Love A Cowboy – Passion In Print (October 2010). Hot Summer Love – Whiskey Creek/Torrid (November 2010). Cat On The Prowl – XOXO Publishing (October 2010) and many more.

I have learned so much this first year, it’s scary. Opening those first few edits, I was ready to quit sometimes, but I realized those changes made my piece even better. It’s never easy to see your “baby” lit up like a Christmas tree when you get it back, but trust me, it’s not that bad. You take everything in stride, including bad reviews. You have to understand, it’s only one person’s opinion and you can’t please everyone. Not every reader will like your book. It’s a fact of life.

My biggest thrill this year had to be RT in Ohio. Well, it helps I got to snuggle with Jimmy Thomas since I won the Breakfast In Bed contest. He’s a doll!

My second biggest thrill — a woman at Lori Foster’s Get Together in June actually stopped me and said she recognized my name and had read my Wilder Series. She loved it! It’s the best feeling in the world and I’m amazed every day with the wonderful feedback and notes from readers. They  make it all worth doing.

Again, thank you to all the wonderful readers, reviewers, editors, publishers and friends I’ve made over this year and I hope you continue to enjoy the work I publish.

 www.romancestorytime.com

Follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/sandys37

 

 
About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on August 28, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wonderful post, Sandy – and congrats on being published and being recognized at a conference!! What a high that must have been.

    Love the px of you and Jimmy – you lucky dog, you. 🙂

  2. You just had to post that pic of you and Jimmy, didn’t ya? It’s too early for me to drool. lol
    Congrats on all your success, Sandy. And Passion In Print is thrilled to have you as an author. Here’s to a lot more success to come your way!

  3. Thanks for joining me I’ve enjoyed working with you the past year!
    I sooo love that pic of you and Jimmy, and to think you’re the last breakfast winner, woe to the rest of us in the female population 🙂

  4. OMG, I LOVE Jimmy and you are one seriously lucky woman!!! I am so jealous!
    How did you keep your composure for that, is all I want to know?

    And wow, I was at Lori Foster’s event in June as well! Wish I would have know so I could have met you in person…

    Great post, Sandy.

  5. Hey Sandy,

    Loved this post! I’m so glad for all of your successes–and with so many different publishers, too! That is just wonderful! What a great pic of you and JT together. SIGH. That is something you’ll never forget, I’m sure!

    Cheryl

  6. Thank you all for your wonderful replies. Yes, the breakfast in bed was one “memorable” experience. It made my conference, that’s for sure. Sorry I missed you, Renee. I’ll be there next year and I’m going to the Central Ohio Fiction Writer’s conference October 1 and 2 so if anyone lives in the area, come on by and see me. I’m giving away 20oz aluminum water bottles to the first 75 visitors to my table.

    Sandy

  7. Congratulations on a whirlwind first year of publication, Sandy. I can not figure out HOW you kept up with everyting. lol. I’m glad I stopped by this blog today, as I got another drool, er, look at you and Jimmy in bed. 🙂
    Laurie Ryan

  8. Love the post, Sandy. I see so much of myself in it that I know other authors will, too! And I totally want to be you now that I’ve seen the pic of you with Jimmy! Can he put on a cowboy hat?

    Sophie

  9. Never doubt you are a rising star in the Romance Industry. 🙂 I love your work and am happy to have met you and seen you do so well. Hopefully the next few years only get better. 🙂

  10. CONGRATULATIONS Sandy! You have had an amazing first year and I have no doubt it is just the first of MANY more to come! You are a remarkably talented writer, of that there is no doubt. But you are also an amazing woman and I have enjoyed getting to know you this past year! Here’s to your continued success!

  11. I learned how to type on a typewriter, LOL! Congrats on an awesome first year. I hope there are many more to follow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

