Five-Hundred-Twenty-Five-Thousand-Six-Hundred-Minutes A Journey with Juniper Bell

In March of 2009, I skidded on black ice and rolled my car down a ravine.

The very next day, my first book was accepted for publication. Coincidence? Well, probably, but it never felt that way. I’ve always linked the two events in my mind as a message from the universe: get ready for a wild ride.

In August, six months after the accident, my book came out. Three more books came after that, and now, with a year of being published under my belt, I still think about that rollercoaster ride of a car accident.

 

I was driving, and my sweetie was in the passenger seat. We tumbled 250 feet down a snowy hill and slammed into snowpack under a fallen tree. That’s where we stopped, hanging upside down from our seatbelts, and that’s when I lost it.  If my fiancé hadn’t kept his cool and figured out how to get us out of the car, no one ever would have found us.

The lesson: you need friends in this business. You need people to support you, to cheer you on, to guide you. I’ve made incredible friends on this journey—most of whom I’ve never met in person. But they’ve helped me weather bad reviews, nasty comments, and low morale. Being a writer has its own special torments, and writer friends are essential to survive those moments. Plus – you need people to celebrate the good news too. I’m lucky to have had plenty of that.

 After we extracted ourselves from the car and realized we had no cell signal, we gathered our things and trudged up that icy slope to the highway. Every step threatened to send us sliding back down. That trek was so tricky, so nerve-wracking. When we got to the top, we grinned at each other like goofy kids.  

 The lesson: nothing takes the place of hard, one-step-at-a-time work. The same holds true for writing. It’s hard one-word-at-a-time work. You have to sit in your chair and write. No shortcuts. No one’s going to magically transport you to the top of that hill. But when you get there, what a feeling!

I dealt with whiplash for a year after the accident, and I’ll probably be dealing with publication whiplash my whole career. Writing is a rollercoaster ride. Even after a year and four books, I’m still a nervous wreck every time I submit something. Emails from editors make my heart try to jump out of my skin. Reviews make me tremble. Checking my ranking on Amazon gets to be an obsession.

But getting an email from a reader who loves my work, or seeing my book on a bestseller list, is a high like nothing else.

 So to celebrate one year on the rollercoaster, there’s really only one thing to do. Get back behind the wheel. And write.

Covers

 

My Three Lords

Juniper Bell

How is one innocent country girl to choose between a Duke, a Marquis and an Earl? Must she?

 When Miss Alicia Silverwood marries the Earl of Dorchester, he whisks her off to Notre Plaisir, a country manor where erotic surprises await in the company of three powerful lords.

The young Earl needs a wife and heir. The cynical Marquis de Beaumont needs a playmate. And the commanding Duke of Warrington needs a reason to live. As for the new Lady Dorchester, she’s about to discover the true nature of her own sensual needs. On top of that, she’s falling in love.

It might take a miracle for Lady Alicia and her three lords come to an arrangement that makes them all happy. Or perhaps all that’s required is a little scandalous rule- breaking.

  Juniper Bell writes erotic romance for Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave, and Liquid Silver Books. Visit her website at JuniperBell.com, friend her on Facebook or follow her on Twitter. 

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on August 27, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What a great story Juniper 🙂 I detest snow and hail when involved in car wrecks. Hugs, thanks for sharing and I can’t wait to get a hold of My Three Lords!

  2. That’s a great post! And some really good lessons. And, yeah, you’re probably right about the neverending whiplash of publication…although I wish I could tell you otherwise! But, hey, you made it through your first year so Congratulations!

  3. Thanks for having me here, Hales! It was definitely a wild ride, one of those events you think about for a looong time. I still hate winter driving.

    PG, thanks for your comment! Sometimes I think for writers, whiplash is a way of life. 😉 I’m hoping I get used to it! Hugs!

  4. Juniper, excellent post. And I think you’ve hit on the perfect metaphor here, because in this craaaaazy business, you’ve got to have a good support network.

  5. Thanks Juniper it was great having you here! Hi Skylar and PG Forte thanks or visiting and commenting

  6. Wow, a year’s worth of whiplash! And you kept writing and dreaming. Good blog.
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

