Five-Hundred-Twenty-Five-Thousand-Six-Hundred Minutes A Journey to Share

Five Hundred-Twenty-Five-Thousand-Six-Hundred Minutes

How do you measure growth? Meeting new people? Finding a new passion?

~Let’s Take a Look at my journey~

My first story My Pencil That I found in a box with all my report cards and artwork.

Dear Editors….As you can see old habits die hard. I didn’t capitalize then. 

I’m not sure what happened following this. There were King and Queen My Little Ponies, and Cabbage Patch Kid stories. Then stories of Kirk Cameron and the cast of Bay Watch, let’s not forget Night Rider, and Silverspoon, from there? Cheerleading and boys.

The Military

Life And Children

And Then…….

Seasons of Love

This past year, I’ve learned that organization is key to success. I’ve met new people around the world and have found a new home among homes.
The stars in my eyes haven’t dwindled but have continued to shine, though sometimes with tears of joy, or bouts of frustration.
I have blogged, and interviewed, and blogged and interviewed some more. I’ve screamed and cursed and fought the characters prone to anarchy in my mind. I’ve taken courses in many different areas to continue grow. I’ve shown what a brat I can be, or a sweetheart. I’ve pouted and buckled down to work. Research has taken on a whole new meaning. I’ve learned there’s no such thing as time management in the summer with teenage kids home, and to have patience and get my arse off the computer to exercise. Though zingers are my downfall, chocolate-cherry coca cola from Sonic is worse. I’ve gained additional publishers and new brother and sister authors. Sweet Damn, I’ve risen out of my comfort zone, taking a walk on the wild side into different genre dark-waters.
I’ve rocked out to awesome music and cried when edits arrived. Through it all, helping hands, words of wisdom and comfort have reached my hearing-select ears. Instruction has penetrated through the fog of my ‘I know it’s right don’t tell me it’s not.’ I’ve found time is a commodity, not to be taken lightly, and to appreciate those who take time out of their own hectic schedule to teach.
Thesaraus.com has become my new best friend. Word usage? Who cares? Editors do. What makes sense in my head at times makes no sense once on paper. Taking the blinders off works more than one would think. Cues to Emotion is a much needed help aide.

Five Hundred Twenty Five Six Hundred Minutes- Time for a second journey. Like the lyrics say, the story never ends.My first year has been nothing short of amazing. I’ve shared it with readers, fans, friends, and family. Thank you for joining the flashback of my journey with me. I am humbled by those I’m learning from and grateful for each and every day.

~Hales

About mahalia2010

Mother, Sister, Friend, Author

Posted on August 26, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. D'Ann Linscott-Dunham

    Lovely post, Hales. I love the pics. You are so pretty and your kids beautiful. A writer’s life is so interesting. Glad to be counted among your friends.

  2. Yeah,, what D’Ann said–the pictures are great, and so is the fact that you’ve absorbed your journey and used if for growth rather than using it as a reason to give up. I loved this post.

  3. What a great post! Thanks for sharing your “journey” so we can ALL learn from it. 🙂

  4. Hales,

    Your journey is magnificent because it’s yours and I’m so glad I’m getting to know you. Some day I hope to be brave enough to try out for Teacher’s Pet. LOL Best wishes for more success than you ever dreamed, however you define it.

    From the back row as always.
    Margie
    romancewithsass.com

    • LOL I will drag you to the front and hand over the teachers pet tiara to you 🙂 I measure success in growth 🙂 However I dream high so hopefully my dreams and success will collide and I’ll blossom higher than I’ve imagined.

  5. Beautiful post! Thanks for sharing your journey.

  6. Hales
    Thanks for sharing. I must agree with the other comments about the photos, they were great.One question, you were in the Navy right, are you a shellback?
    G W Pickle

  7. Abbigail-Madison

    Beautiful Pictures ……….love the Navy picture brings takes me back to when I use to travel with my sister who just retired from the Navy…..

  8. Very cool post. Cabbage patch kids, kirk cameron and silver spoons… ahhhhh memories… thank you for sharing your journey with us.

  9. What a wonderful post! Thank you so much for sharing. It’s always nice to hear where an author started and see where they are now. Your gratitude to everyone who helped along the way is so sweet too. Never forgetting the people along the way. Keep doing what you are doing, we love it.

    PS: Thesaurus.com is my second bible as well. Love it!

    Have a great day! T.

  10. What a lovely back story to author, Hales. I enjoyed reading it, since I haven’t ‘known’ you long and didn’t know any of it before today. I feel smarter! Thanks.

  11. Hey Calisa nice to meet you 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it! Thought I’d make it fun and add in the few links that stay active on my favorites.

  12. Wonderful pictures, Hales. Thanks for sharing.

    Glad to know someone else is stubborn besides me. lol

    You go, Hales. No one gains anything by quitting.

  13. What a delightful post. Enjoyed “sharing” your journey and the pics. The writer’s journey is such a convoluted and challenging one. Glad you stuck to it! Oh, and thanks for the links!

    Denise Golinowski
    The Festival of the Flowers: The Courtesan and the Scholar
    Available 9/1/10 From The Wild Rose Press

  14. What a wonderful post… I, too enjoyed the photos. Thank you so much for your service to our country, it takes a special person to take that challenge. God bless you and your family for that sacrafice.
    I loved taking the walk down memory lane with you as you like the same things I did growing up.
    I wish you many more years of success and happiness.

  15. Love it! Nice Job bringing it all to life on Paper. Here’s to many more years to write about!!!!!

  16. Rae Smith Evans

    HiYa!
    I love the trip down memory lane. Gotta know….if you struggle with capitalization, did you survive some of those English teachers we had at that school on charm? I remember being flayed for minor grammar and capitalization mishaps. (Mr. W***s (did you ever have him?), you know who you are!) LOL! Good times!

  17. What an amazing journey..I loved reading your post..It is something special to see how you got to where you are today. Thank you for posting this for us to read.

  18. Hey Savannah nice to see you! You’re welcome, I enjoyed writing it. Thanks for coming by 🙂

  19. Hales, I for one am so happy to have met you. My life has been an amazing ride, with the journey darting off onto unknown trails, but the day our paths crossed was a good day for me.

    Happy writing!
    All the best!

  20. Hey Hales ~ I finally have a chance to respond to your post. I read it Friday before leaving for Indianapolis.

    I just wanted to say, I’m glad our paths crossed. You’ve been an awesome friend/fellow writer, etc. Thanks for the advice you’ve given me, and totally enjoyed our chit chatting and sharing YouTube links. Ha HA Our tastes in music is just the same, and I know you’d be cool as hell to go to a concert with. It is nice finding out a little more about you.

    I wish you the best in everything you do, and thanks for sharing.

    CK

    • Awh CK you’re so very sweet. Yeah we’d rock the spot alright 🙂 I enjoy chatting to and sharing experience. All advice I’ve given is from mentors who’ve given me the same. Guess I don’t have selective hearing anymore lol! Hugs, I wish you the best too.

Leave a Reply

